250MC Presentation

Having produced my photographs for this assignment I was then faced with the decision on how to present the work. Originally this body of work had been inspired from a photo book and it had been from that point that my intentions were to present the photographs in a book format, but since reviewing my pieces (examples below) I do not think that it would work as a book. As each image is viewed as a diptych I thought it might be impractical to sequence them in a book as they may appear crammed, within the confined space of a page. It made sense then that they would best be viewed in a larger format, such as in an exhibition environment. I have tested this out by having one of the images printed A1 size and it seems almost organic for the photograph to be blown up larger to be viewed, although I believe the photograph could benefit from being even bigger than its current A1 size. The large format allows the viewer to study each side of the diptych individually and when viewed from a distance they become unified as one piece, one side informing the viewing of the other side.

SiteSpecific+Photogram#3

SiteSpecific+Photogram#5

Going back to my original intentions I wanted these photographs to appear to have a narrative, to bring together these objects found within one location and create a meaningful presence. When changing my idea from presenting in a book format to an exhibition I didn’t forget about this so have sequenced them in this PDF of how they would be displayed. I have taken into consideration several aesthetic qualities of the images when ordering them such as the compositions, shapes and colours within each frame. I chose to open and close the story with an image of the sky which I think act as a nice equilibrium to the opening and finish of the narrative.

In order to create this sequence I drew on past experiences I have had in developing my knowledge of sequencing. I have found myself on several occasions flicking through Rinko Kawauchi’s ‘Illuminance’ and have also experienced how the narrative in the book has been translated into an exhibition. The photo book ‘Sightwalk’ by Gueorgui Pinkhassov has been the starting point of inspiration for this project and most recently a lecture dedicated to sequencing led by Jason Tilly has been an influence. We were given the opportunity to have a go at ordering his body work and what I noticed a few people doing was simply grouping the photographs that appeared similar aesthetically together. What I found this did was make the photographs appear tiresome, making it difficult to zone in on one in particular. So what I took away from this is in order to create some excitement in the viewer the sequence needs to be kept fresh, this doesn’t mean putting two photographs that have nothing alike together but rather I have tried to keep the similarities in the pairings of photographs to a minimum. This is something I have also noted in the sequencing of Kawauchi’s work, although there are similarities in the pairings the excitement is kept in its sequence by the contrasting moods you gain from viewing each photograph.

Leave a Reply

