Blue Velvet Review

Blue Velvet has to be one of the oddest sensations I have encountered whilst viewing a film. It’s controversial and disturbing characters are something I have experienced before in numerous Tarantino films, but when combined with David Lynch’s (Director) surrealist style I found it hard to prepare myself for the story that followed. Although I found the plot ridiculous and hard to follow at times I felt drawn in and compelled to carrying on viewing by the fascinating characters.

It was clear from the offset of the movie that it was going to be a bizarre two hours ahead. The opening set the tone of the film with a montage of a peaceful depiction of suburban life in America, which was crudely interrupted by the collapsing of an elderly man watering his lawn, later to be realised as the lead character Jeffrey’s (Kyle MacLaclan) father. Although it remains unclear to me what this incidents relevance was to the rest of the film, it made one thing clear that this film was not going to paint the picture of an idealised suburban lifestyle. Instead we are taken on a journey, a mystery, by Jeffrey who seems to be as unclear to the world around him and the happenings that follow as we are. As Jeffrey guided me through this twisted storyline of a woman, trapped and suffocated by a sadistic man, I felt engaged with the plot as I discovered the unravelling of this mystery with him.

After Jeffrey comes across a severed ear, grotesquely covered with ants, he feels obliged to tackle the mystery himself even though he had handed this evidence into the police. His motives to tackle this case himself are not made clear (or at least weren’t clear to me), maybe the fact he suspected some darker events were taking place in his usually perfect suburban settings fed his curiosity. He also involves a girl in solving this mystery, Laura Dern (Sandy Williams), who’s entrance to the film is a piece of cinematography that will stick with me. Picture a tree darkly lit beneath and from the shadows emerge this girl who steps into the lit foreground of the frame, accompanied by some stereotypical romantic music. Some may class this as cheesy or outdated, and I would agree, but I believe it was a brilliant entrance to the film and this cheesy, corny style remained consistent throughout the film with the odd zooming shot and dramatic music to go along side them.

Overall I came out of the end of the film confused and unsure as to whether or not I actually liked it. It drew me in and no matter how much weirder the storyline got I found I could not tear myself away, so I guess I could be found guilty for enjoying the ridiculous scenarios and strange characters.

One thought on “Blue Velvet Review

Leave a Reply

