Steven Shore

After receiving the feedback on my previous images I decided to take a new approach in my photographic style and open up the frame, allowing the audience to discover the Americanisms in the landscape for themselves. Photographing landscapes from a distance is not what I usually do, so I decided to look at photographers that do photograph these subjects, hoping that I will understand how to do it successfully. In order to avoid producing photographs that look like snapshot images, where the subjects in the frame look misplaced and unconsidered.

That is why I have been looking at the body of work “Uncommon Places” by Stephen Shore. The style of Shore’s images in this body of work look incredibly ordered and there is this great awareness when viewing them that every single aspect of the composition has been considered, meaning everything in the frame has a fundamental role and importance to play within the photograph.

This is a style that Shore has developed over years of practice so obviously I do not aim to produce an imitation of his work, but I will definitely use his work to inform my own.

Leave a Reply

